skip navigation

Masters Over 50 World Cup


2017 in Hungary

Bringing Masters together from all over the World

The Masters Soccer 5 a side tournament was founded in 2006 by Dr. Harry Hubball as part of a fitness research project at the University of British Columbia. This event is a 5 a side soccer/futsal tournament with 10 - 20 teams of age specific players (e.g., over 50 years old) from around the world.

Beginning from academic pursuits, the tournament soon evolved into to one of the most enjoyable adult soccer events. People from different cultures, countries, backgrounds, etc.. get together for a few days, in a select resort location, to share and enjoy playing the sport that they all have in common. Particpating teams to date include: Canada, England, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Holland, Ireland, Morocco, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, USA and Wales.

Whether you are looking to challenge your playing skills, visit a new country, meet new friends, or just get away from it all, Masters Soccer 5 a side tournament is just for you. Gather your soccer team of 7 or more players and join us for one of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences you will ever have.

As a tournament organization that is directed by those passionate about the Sport of Soccer, we take pride in offering senior athletes the best possible tournament / holiday experience. Including, travel assistance, ground transportation assistance, resort style accomodations, fair and simple tournament formats, and social and cultural opportunities.

The tournament is Directed by Mike Sweeney, former professional player with World Cup and Olympic experience. As a Veteran player and tournament participant, Mike enjoys this format for having a great playing experience and minimizing injuries.  You can contact Mike at

The first Masters World Cup tournament was held at the Chelsea School, England, and has traveled around Europe since then:

2006- Chelsea England
2007- Filzbach, Switzerland
2008- Birmingham, England
2011- Antalya, Turkey
2013- Barcelona, Spain
2014- Verona, Italy
2015- San Sebastian, Spain 
2016- Algarve, Portugal
2017 - Telki, Hungary
2018 - Benicassim, Spain
2019 - Porec, Croatia